Vegan Yum Yum Savory Baked Tofu

Alright – I’ve been completely absent for awhile and for that I sincerely apologize! I definitely have some catching up to do…

First up, a new tofu recipe I made last week and had for every non-breakfast meal until it was gone… it was that good.

Let’s be honest, for all it’s protein benefits, tofu just isn’t that great.  I often throw it on my salads or in my stir fry because I know I need the protein, but it’s never a very exciting part of the meal. Until now. One of my favorite recipe sources, Vegan Yum Yum, has a recipe for this baked tofu that I adapted based on what I was feeling and what I had in the pantry.

I left out the liquid smoke – mostly because I didn’t have any on hand, but also because I just wasn’t feeling that flavor. However, I plan to pick some up soon and try it again with that ingredient because I think it will be a nice alternative to the tempeh bacon we (yep, even hubby) really like on fakin’ bacon BLTs. To kick up the savory factor, I added Annie’s vegan worcestershire sauce instead.  I also wanted to avoid white sugar so I halved the sugar and used maple syrup in lieu of sugar.  The result was delicious and I am LOVING it on salads.  It’s actually the highlight of the dish.  Don’t believe me? Try it out for yourself here!

Leave a Reply

