Green Smoothie

I’m a huge fan of a blog called Little House of Veggies. I discovered this blog about two years ago and quickly learned that Morgan is a vegan recipe diva. Her blog is also where I first heard about Barley Grass Powder… a little green powder that contains five times the iron of spinach, ten times the calcium in milk, and is loaded with vitamins, minerals, amino acids, and enzymes that are easy to digest. I was so intrigued by the health benefits of this little super food, but I feared something that packed so many health benefits would inevitably taste like… well, grass.

Given the potential benefits (and the discount code found at Little House of Veggies), I decided to order a bottle and give it a try. And now, I’m happy to report that I am absolutely hooked on these yummy green smoothies! They make for a great breakfast, or sometimes on gym days even an afternoon snack. Each one contains 225 calories, 5 grams of protein, 6 grams of fiber, 50% of my daily calcium, and 14% of my daily iron (for those of you who eat a plant based diet, you know how tough those last two can be!).

Green Smoothie

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 frozen banana

1 teaspoon barley grass powder

1 tablespoon flaxseed meal

2 teaspoons honey or agave nectar

3 Ice cubes

1 cup raw spinach (or roughly a handful)

;

Don’t be intimidated by the bright green hue – this creamy, nutritious smoothie is absolutely delicious and doesn’t taste a thing like grass. I promise!

Leave a Reply

